top of page

Costa's Calling

After spending a solid three days transferring from bus to bus on our way from Honduras to El Salvador to Nicaragua with about 4 border crossings through Guatemala it’s safe to say I was ready for a sleep without any motion. I spent some time in Costa Rica last year before going to Peru so I wasn’t exactly eager to commit to extensive time in one of the priciest countries in Central. However, I try to prioritize self-care while travelling. And my body and my mind needed some rest and consistency.

A friend recommended Puerto Viejo, it’s close to Panama (my eventual destination) has a lively night life, good food, beautiful beaches, and a bed without wheels. Sounds perfect? Heck yes. I spent a night at Mi Casa hostel before transferring to Rocking J’s to save some dinero on accommodation. Mi Casa was beautiful with a calm laid back vibe, while Rocking J’s had bumping social scene, hammocks, tents, great food and 24/7 karaoke (coincidentally the reason I’m taking an extended break from all sing-alongs past 9pm).

For what begun as essentially a layover between destinations, Puerto Viejo has snagged a place in my heart. Looking for incredible Pad Thai that will have you dreaming of Khao San Road? Hit up Stashu’s and it will change your life. The market along main street will ensure that you have incredible hand crafted jewelry or if you’ve got a dread lock in need of repair you might just leave with a set of four decorated dreads.

Anyone who knows me will attest to the fact that I love to float, so if there’s a body of water you can bet you will find me snorkelling in my diaper of a life jacket and Cahuita (home to Costa Rica’s most diverse coral reef) was no exception. The national park also boasts a collection of wild life including sloths, monkeys, vipers and spiders that are a smidge too large for my taste.

While I was there Puerto Viejo was hosting a surf competition, so the town and beaches were pretty packed. Punta Uva (one of the neighbouring, and more secluded beaches) was quickly recommended. So, we rented bikes for 5-10 USD, from one of the many shops and hit the road. The town and neighbouring area are incredibly easy to navigate by bike and the scenery is more than worth the light leg workout.

After a restful, but eventful, four days my bank account took a bit of a hit in Costa (as per usual), but my heart was pretty grateful for the Caribbean change of pace. It's never easy to say goodbye to Costa Rica, but Panama (and my plane ticket home) are still waiting for me. Until next time, Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!

-Sam

- Sam

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page