top of page

10 Things Worth Adding to the Weight on my Back

I’ve developed a bit of a system when it comes to my packing.. anyone who knows me would probably describe it as organized chaos (the key being chaos). But despite the madness, I find my beautiful mess of a system works wonders for me, so I figured I’d share it.

1. A jar of peanut butter

As a wandering pescatarian sometimes protein becomes an issue. Cue peanut butter. Also I struggle to make it more than two days without peanut butter. I am only human.

2. Games!

My backpack for Central America currently includes monopoly deal, the signature Canadian flag deck of cards, catch phrase, banagrams, and a frizbee.. No I am not kidding. Travel days quickly become the best days when armed with a good game.

3. A speaker

Because what party doesn’t start with a sick soundtrack? Water resistance isn't a bad idea.

4. Compression sacks and packing cubes

How better to organize chaos than multiple small bags?! Oh what a time to be alive. I love to use compression sacks to shrink bulkier clothing (like coats, mittens, toques) or costume supplies. Things that I want to keep with me, but don’t need constant access to. Then I like to keep all my clothing categorized and kept in separate cubes to make them nice and easy to find! Don’t forget a dirty laundry bag as well!

5. A multi-tool

(only if you’re checking a bag, airport security aren’t big fans of knives). But scissors? Check. Bottle opener? Check. Knife for fresh mangos, avocados and everything in between? Check.

6. A good book

Or a few hundred if you travel with an e reader like I do. I also like to keep a few movies and games saved on mine. If you’re heading to somewhere the native language isn’t the same as your own it isn’t a bad idea to keep a small language book with you on the go.

7. A first aid kit

Yes… This did take a dull turn. Sorry about that. But my preparation could rival that of a boy scout, I like to be ready for anything!

8. Fuzzy Socks

I’m cold.. always. Buses, planes, and trains are no place for someone like me. Fuzzy socks keep me cozy and prevent my companions from murdering me because of my constant temperature complaints. Plus they can be festive!

9. Extra Memory Cards

I’m a pictures person so my go pro (affectionally referred to as Burt) will always be ready with a card plus a backup, and my point and shoot camera is no different. I never want a full card to stop me from getting the perfect selfie... or video of a puppy.

10. A sarong

A towel, a scarf, a blanket, a pillow, a dress, a home? You get the point.

Bonus Item

Also save space for a wild Kass, the benefits are limitless.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page